Story by the campfire: This is why I’ll never finish my writing

So NaNoWriMo camp is on, it’s day 3 and I’m sitting here with a grand total of 0 word written. In fact, I believe it’s on the negative side of word count as a matter of fact. I’ve been editing out speeches here and there from chapter 2 through 4 so as to make the chapters less clunky.

Not until NaNoWriMo is upon me did I realize how overbooked this month is.

And I thought July would be free…

Last week, I received a memo saying that I had flopped the exam on Microwave engineering and I would need to take the “surprise” re-exam on the 11th this month. So now I can’t concentrate on writing with the exam looms near and I have studied jack. for it

There’s another problem with the mobile call-triggered watering module I built two weeks ago my dad informed me only last night, while I was in the middle of rewriting the encounter in chapter 3. In short, the electric valve I bought was too small and it didn’t fit in the water pipes of the dripping irrigation system.

This is a huge problem for me because I registered this project for the prototype subject of my engineering thesis and the initial report is due to the 28th this month. I didn’t expect problems to occur at this late stage. Apparently, Murphy’s law holds “Anything that can go wrong will go wrong”.

Another time-consuming issue arose yesterday. I missed the memo from CDRW last Thursday on the annual staff promotion for Kantai Collection English Wikia. So much of yesterday afternoon was spent on reviewing the candidates. I was supposed to interview two of them today (but I haven’t…yet).

Well, that’s part of my job as the wiki’s senior administrator. The last thing we want is hiring a liability. That happened before, trust me, it’s not pretty. Things tend to get very hectic during KanColle events so every member of the staff needs to be at his or her best. Or at least, not causing even more problems by bickering with anons and causing huge backlash in the comment section.

An invitation?

Half an hour ago, I received an email from mytrendingstories.com inviting me to join their team as, I think, a collaborated blogger. I have no idea what that site is about. And so, I did the common sense and take the question to the Grand Magnus Google Search.

According to Google search, a number of other WordPress bloggers also received the same invitation as recent as….last month. I’m impressed by the blogging skill of some of these bloggers. The prospect of giving and receiving mentorship from other bloggers seems lucrative as well. I like the design of the site: glorified ASP.NET5 stock template.

However, yes, a big however here, I’m much less impressed by the site statistics provided by Alexa. Also, the site gives me 504 Gateway Time-out error half of the time. I can access the content sometimes but this partial error is very alarming. So when I finally got in, I looked for their “About” page. After 10 minutes, I gave up. There’s no such a page and this fact comes off quite sketchy.

So…I don’t know. I have a lot of things to juggle so I’ll put that off till next month. I bet many of you’ve also received the same invitation, I’d love to hear some thoughts on this in the comment.

A month of revision

Okay, so I’ve just had this bizarre thought that I should let the Witch kill the bishop for real. For real! No more misunderstanding, no more framing the innocent heroine, just let her do what a real anti-hero would do. Or, at least, I need to treat the whole “corrupted members of the church” deal like an end-game mystery and make it less obvious in the early chapters.

This calls for revisiting chapter 3, 5 and 6. Chapter 4 is probably okay as it is.

In regard to chapter 3, the idea of compensatory sex is plainly awkward now that I’ve gotten enough sleep and sobered up from the nutjob-character-writing trance. Either ways, I’ll have a lot of time to think about the alternatives with the endless backlog this month.

Speaking of backlog, there’s an addition to my writing toolkit: Git repositories. Like backlogs, git repositories are frequently used in software development but I’ve never used them in writing before. I’m looking forward to using this tool beyond NaNoWriMo Camp.

Published by

fujihita

Self-learner, designer, author and programmer.

Leave a Reply

